Photo Gallery

Click on the small images to enlarge.

Will Atkinson enjoying the Bletchingdon water-splash, in the Oxford Mail cross-country
Will Atkinson
in cross-country action
Roger Thetford on the way to third M35 at the British Champs
Roger Thetford
out orienteering
Stuart Brookes in the White Horse Half Marathon
Stuart Brookes 'racing' on the road
Pete Flavel at training pace: faster than race pace for most of the rest of us!
Pete Flavel
out training
Trevor Taylor long-jumping for White Horse Harriers in the Southern League
Trevor Taylor in flight
A mass start for the Fun Run when we inaugurated the mini course
Mass start to inaugurate the mini course
Oldest of the Fun Run trophies: the cup presented each week to the track or Fun Run winner
Cup presented to each week's winner
The person with the largest points total at the end of each Fun Run season wins this smart engraved tankard
...and the annual trophy for the biggest points total
Secretary and points-calculator Will Atkinson presents Ian Vatter with the annual trophy
Ian Vatter wins the Fun Run annual trophy
Over the footbridge, two-thirds of the way round the Fun Run
Richard Cummings crosses the Fun Run footbridge
Ian Vatter and Jon Hyde in a Fun Run battle on the bomb dump straight
Jon Hyde chasing Ian Vatter on the Fun Run

Harwell Running Club's attempt on the world 1500m record

On 6th August 1992, during the Barcelona Olympics, we combined forces and tried to beat Said Aouita's then world record of 3:29.46 for 1500m. And we did it, recording 3:18.7! Needing to run 56-second laps, we managed an admirably consistent 37.2 (for three-quarters of a lap), 53.6, 53.9, 54.0s. Thanks to Martin Wall, Gareth Smith and Angwin Marples for time-keeping and to Martin Ricketts for the photos.

David Holden gets the record attempt underway
David sets off, carefully watched by the timekeepers
John Mason handing over to Roger Thetford
400m: John to Roger 
Will Atkinson tries to catch Pete Stepney
800m: Will to Pete
Piers Hermann stretches for the final changeover
1200m: Piers to Ian
Ian Vatter brings the baton safely home
Ian cruises home to a new World Record
Ian Vatter, Piers Hermann, David Holden; Pete Stepney, Roger Thetford, Will Atkinson
The triumphant team! (minus John Mason)

Last updated 4 September 2001