London Public Service League Chess- News

News from 2017-18 for London Public Service League Chess

26 May 2018

David Gilbert

Team Blitz 2018: Winners

The Annual Team Blitz Tournament took place at Pimlico on Thursday, 24 May 2018. The winners were:

Barford Trophy Winner - GLCC 1
Roland Smith Trophy Winner - Revenue & Customs 2

There's a cross-table on the link beneath.

Link: documents/LPSCL Team Blitz 2018.pdf
25 Apr 2018

David Gilbert

GLCC 1 and DHSS 2 take the Cups

GLCC 1 defeated DHSS 1 in the Bonar Law last night while DHSS 2 took the Post Annual beating Pimlico 3. All the scores on the competitions page. Brendan O'Gorman took some photographs which are on the link beneath:

Link: https://brendanogorman.smugmug.com/Chess/Cup-Finals-2018/n-sbspJX/
14 Apr 2018

David Gilbert

Revenue & Customs take Division One

All hail Revenue & Customs! Their win over Pimlico Home on Thursday gives then an unassailable lead on Division One and they are the 2017/18 champions.

11 Apr 2018

David Gilbert

UNATS 1 Take Division 2 Title

UNATS 1 have won the Division Two title after beating DHSS 2 at Caxton House this evening. Congratulations to all the UNATS' players who'll be returning to Division One next season.

11 Apr 2018

David Gilbert

SPARTA Champions

Congratulations to SPARTA who rounded off their season last night with a resounding win over GLCC 3 to become outright winners of Division 3 and they'll be taking their place in a higher grade next season.

16 Mar 2018

David Gilbert

8th Pimlico Summer Tournament & LPSCL Individual Trophies

The entry form is now available (see link) for the 2018 Pimlico Summer Tournament, incorporating the three LPSCL Individual Trophies, The Barstow Cup (Open), Star Trophy (Under 150) and the James Curtis Trophy (Under 120) to the top players from our League. It's getting a bit repetitive that come July I'll be announcing another set of Pimlico winners (Bryan Gittens excepted), so it would be good to have a few more challengers from other Clubs this year.

Link: documents/Pimlico Summer Tournament 2018(2).pdf
20 Nov 2017

David Gilbert

ECF Membership - Some problems

We already have a high proportion of players with ECF membership. It was reported earlier that Clubs with non-members will be charged £16 (the equivalent of Bronze membership) for each non- member who plays four or more games in the league.

A few players might be experiencing difficulties in renewing their membership. The issue arises for those who have previously registered at the ECF via PaySubsOnline, paid a past year subscription, but then had a year when they never joined.  It seems they are locked out when they then try to log-in for 2017/18. If this happens please call the ECF Office (01424 775222) and either pay over the phone or ask the staff to generate the possibility of making a payment through PaySubsOnline.

On a related matter, for those with an unnatural interest in such matters, the ECF has recently issued a new tender invitation for an on-line subscription service for the 2018/19 season.

02 Nov 2017

David Gilbert

Andriy Peykov wins the Tony Ashby Award 2017

The winner of this years Tony Ashby Shield is Andriy Peykov of GLCC. The trophy goes to the most improved player over three grading lists. Andriy advanced by a massive 44 grading points from 127 - 153 - 171 and was a regular player for GLCC last season playing 13 times, winning ten, drawing one and losing just two. Andriy picked up his trophy at Pimlico on Thursday, 2 November 2017. See link.

Link: documents/Peykovpic.pdf
13 Sep 2017

David Gilbert

Game Fee 2017/18

The League encourages all players to become members of the English Chess Federation (ECF). There are changes to game fee this season. There is no charge for ECF members. Non-ECF members can play three games without charge. Once a fourth game is played they will be charged £16 (the equivalent of Bronze Membership).

The Treasurer will collect this from players Clubs at the end of the season.