Oxfordshire Chess- News

News from 2020-21 for Oxfordshire Chess

News from other years: 2021 2018 2017 2016 2015 2014 2012 2010 2008 2007 2006

13 Jun 2021

Andrew Varney

Oxon Juniors online success

While over the board junior team competitions have not been possible, 
EPSCA and SCCU have run online equivalents of the usual Jamborees on 
lichess.org. They had an interesting format of Swiss competitions on 
each board as instead of three rounds only, it was possible to extend 
the event to five rapid rounds.

Oxfordshire Juniors took part in all events with EPSCA taking place in 
March (Girls U11), April (U9) and May (U11) and the SCCU Jamboree for 
older players (U14 Minor/ U14 / U18) in June. 

In the jamboree on 5 June 2021, the Oxfordshire U18 team won the 
event, taking first place. Congratulations to the team! 

All players enjoyed the events. 
Team managers: Joseph Conlon (U9), Ola Murawska (all other teams)

ECF runs two county Blitz team battles for Juniors every month (one is 
specifically for girls). If any Oxfordshire junior players would like 
to take part in those please see the links at the equivalent news item 
at the Ojays website.  

Link: https://oxonjuniorchess.blogspot.com/
21 May 2021

Roger Thetford

Ray Starkie Best Game Trophy

Congratulations to Oscar Idle for winning the Ray Starkie Trophy for the best game in the winter 2020 and spring 2021 Mike Duck online tournaments.

Matt Rose, judging, commented

Jon knows the Schliemann pretty well, so I assume he forgot something as Oscar has a dominant position after only 15 moves. I like the fact that Oscar didn't cash in until it was all clear. It got a bit messy, but Oscar handled the complications without panicking. He just kept making good moves - which some say is the way to win chess games!

Oscar's win against Jon Manley is the first game in the PGN file that's at the link below. The other entries follow, in chronological order. To prevent chess-ignorant browsers from mangling the file, ".txt" has been appended to the filename. Right-click to download the file, remove the ".txt" extension, then open the file with your favourite chess program.

Link: documents/RayStarkie_2020-21.pgn.txt
21 Apr 2021

Ian Bush

Ian Brooke

I have just received the very sad news of the death of Ian Brooke. Ian has been a stalwart of the OCA and the Oxford City club for more years than most can remember - a former Chair of the OCA, he ran the Oxfordshire open team, and was been Chairman of the Oxford City club for almost 30 years. He was also an active and more than useful participant (as I know to my cost!) into his nineties, playing right up to when Covid curtailed over the board chess when he won a prize at the last Kidlington tournament. He was also kind enough to go with me to tournaments in the West Country (see link to a picture), and I know over the years he has done similar for many other players in the county.

I know many of us will miss him, especially his positive and generous character, and I am sure all our thoughts go to his family.

Link: https://twitter.com/FromeChess/status/1130117944694980608/photo/1
10 Apr 2021

David Robson

Results of the OCA Blitz @ Cowley - Thursday 8th April

I hope everyone enjoyed the OCA Blitz on Thursday. Thirty-three players took part; the scores can be seen here.

First: Graham McInnes
Second: Stuart MacQueen
Third: Will Burt
Fourth: Simon Terrington
Best Junior (U18): Kenneth Hobson
Best U165: Chris Evans
Best U155: Matt Christensen
Best Junior (U14): Nicholas, Kitaev
Best U145: John Courouble
Best U130: Gary Loyden
Best Slow Starter: Daniel Kitaev
Best Very Slow Starter: Adrian Ng

15 Dec 2020

David Robson

Cowley Christmas Blitz 2020, Monday 14th December

Because of the pandemic, this year's Cowley Christmas Blitz was hosted on-line, on the Lichess.org platform.  It attracted 35 entrants from 7 different clubs.  262 games were played. More details are available at https://lichess.org/tournament/8UVhoQXQ

Here is the complete list of prizewinners:

1stKenneth Hobson
2ndEldar Alizada
3rdPhil Hayworth
4thWill Burt
Best VisitorGraham McInnes
Best Junior (U18) PlayerJosh Soanes
Best Junior (U14) PlayerPrithvi Chandrashekhar
Best Cowley PlayerOscar Idle
Best U165 PlayerLiam Glenn
Best Cowley U155 PlayerAsif Hameed
Best Visitor U155 PlayerNeil Staples
Best Lady PlayerHeather Lang
Best U145 PlayerJohn Courouble
Best U130 PlayerSteve Rumbsby
Best Ungraded PlayerMousa Bashir
Best Slow StarterGareth Stevens
Best Very Slow StarterKillian Rogan

Link: https://lichess.org/tournament/8UVhoQXQ

Old News

Any unexpired news items dated before 1 August 2021 can be found by using the link for the relevant year. The link for 2020 will give news dated 01 Aug 2020 - 31 Jul 2021.