Oxfordshire Chess- News

News from 2012-13 for Oxfordshire Chess

News from other years: 2018 2017 2016 2015 2014 2013 2010 2008 2007 2006 2005

28 Jun 2013

Gerard O'Reilly

Cowley Summer Blitz

The 2013 Cowley Summer Blitz was held on Monday 24 June and attracted an
excellent total of 60 players. Marcus Harvey was unable to extend his
sequence of three successive Cowley Blitz wins, and this time the Oxford
University player Jan Schmidt (a newcomer to the Cowley Blitz) took
first place, after beating Rick Weston of Witney who was leading after
four rounds with 8/8.
The Prizegiving for the OCA was held between Rounds 1 & 2, with Chair
Simon King making the presentations. This year the Lester Millin trophy
(for the best performance by a junior in any division of the league) was
presented for the first time, and went to Alex Keane of MCS/Blackbirds.

The full list of prizewinners in the Blitz is as follows:

1st: Jan Schmidt (Oxford University)                   9.5/10
2nd: Rick Weston (Witney)                              8
3rd: Ray Starkie (Cowley)                              8
4th: Csaba Koszta (unattached)                         8   
Best Cowley player: Anna Wang                          8
Best visitor: Matthew Daggitt (Cambridge University)   7.5
Best junior (U18): Marcus Harvey (Witney)              7.5
Best lady: Maria Wang (Cowley)                         5.5
Best U165: Kevin Henbest (Oxford University)           6
Best Cowley U155: Geoff Rasell                         6
Best visitor U155: Sean Lim (Oxford University)        6
Best U14: Alex Keane (MCS/Blackbirds)                  5.5
Best U145: Liam Glenn (Cumnor)                         6
Best U130: Tamal Matilal (Cowley Workers)              5.5
Best ungraded: Asif Hameed (Cowley)                    5.5
Best U12: Oscar Idle (Cowley)                          5
Best U10: Jake Holton (Witney)                         5
Best slow starter - 0/2: Ian Gilders (Witney)          5.5
Best very slow starter - 0/4: Jonathan Cassell (MCS)   3

We are grateful to everyone who helped make the event a success,
Rose Hill Methodist Church for allowing us the use of the downstairs
Hall for the event;
the Kidlington Congress for the loan of the equipment we used;
John Taylor and Dave Robson for help with the transporting of equipment,
those who helped with setting up on the day, especially Will Burt, as
well as the many people who helped clear up afterwards;
Jon d'Souza-Eva, who helped with entering the results on the wallcharts;
and (last but very far from least)
Tim Dickinson who (with the assistance of Priscilla Morris) controlled
the tournament with his by now almost legendary speed and skill.

Gerard O'Reilly

22 Apr 2013

Roger Thetford

Marcus Harvey =3rd at the British Blitz Championships

Marcus Harvey travelled to Birmingham on Saturday for the British Blitz Championships, an 11-round Swiss with 66 players. After two wins, in round 3 he found himself on top board playing GM Mark Hebden -- and won!

A further 1½ / 4 against IMs (as black each time) and a last-round draw with top seed GM Keith Arkell, plus 5 / 5 against the untitled lesser mortals, gave Marcus equal third place on 8 / 11 alongside Arkell and IMs Thomas Rendle and Ameet Ghasi. Hebden won with 9½ / 11, dropping only a draw with Arkell after his loss to Marcus.

Congratulations Marcus!

Link: http://www.englishchess.org.uk/British_Blitz_2013/
18 Jan 2013

Andrew Varney

U9 and U11 county team trials results

The U9 and U11 county team trials were held on two separate days over the weekend of 12-13 January 2013. There were 34 players in the U9 tournament on Saturday and 39 player in the U11 tournament on Sunday. The final results can be found under the tournament results section. The U11 results will be sent to the ECF for grading.

Very big thankyous to:
- Sue Baker and St Andrews for providing the venue and associated help and organisation;
- Mel Davenport for dealing with entries, sweatshirts and loads of admin involved before, during and after the weekend;
- Team managers (Marc Ives, David Lee, Heather Lang) and John Place for acting as arbiters and generally leading/helping;
- Ruby Marsden and Matthew Daggitt for coaching on the Saturday morning;
- Gerard O'Reilly (Kidlington Congress) for lending all the chess equipment.

Link: GetTournamentResults.cfm
31 Dec 2012

Alan Kennedy

Mike Truran OBE

It has recently been announced that Mike Truran (OCA and Witney treasurer, 4NCL organiser) has been awarded an OBE. The award was for services to Bioscience. Congratulations Mike!

Link: http://www.cabinetoffice.gov.uk/sites/default/files/resources/NY2013-list.pdf

Old News

Any unexpired news items dated before 1 August 2018 can be found by using the link for the relevant year. The link for 2017 will give news dated 01 Aug 2017 - 31 Jul 2018.