Oxfordshire Chess- News

News from 2005-06 for Oxfordshire Chess

News from other years: 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 2014 2013 2012 2010 2008 2007 2006

22 Jul 2006

Heather Lang

National Successes for Oxfordshire Juniors

Several Oxfordshire juniors have placed highly in national rapidplay championships over the last couple of months. The most recent event was the UK Chess Challenge Southern Gigafinal on the 15th-16th July. The Oxon champions from the Saturday were Anna Wang (U7G), Maria Wang (U10G) and Marcus Harvey (U10BA) and on the Sunday: Naomi Miller (U16G) and Claire Morris (U18G) (listed as Berks in the official results due to the old County boundaries used in the competition)

On the 24th of June, Rowan White (U8) and Anna Wang (U7) were age-group champions in the ECF All-England Girls Gold Finals and on the 10th of June, the Cowley U9 team of Sarah Garrett, Anna Wang, Rowan White and Chantelle Foster finished seven points clear of 19 other teams to win the ECF National Girls Team Championships.

Here are the results of the winners and the other Oxon medallists in these events.

UK Chess Challenge Southern Gigafinal, 15th-16th July 2006
U7 Girls1stAnna Wang (Oxford High / Cowley)6/6
2ndIrene Mathias (Oxford High / Cowley)5/6
U7 Boys B3rd=Daniel D'Souza-Eva (Oxford High)5/6
U8 Girls2nd=Rowan White (Oxford High / NOA / Cowley)5/6
U9 Girls2nd=Chantelle Foster (Barley Hill / Cowley)5/6
U10 Girls1stMaria Wang (Oxford High / Cowley)6/6
U10 Boys A1stMarcus Harvey (West Kidlington / NOA / Bicester)5.5/6
U12 Girls3rd=Ruby Marsden (Oxford High / Cowley)4/6
U14 Boys2nd=Ben Kennedy (King's School / Witney)5/6
U16 Boys & Girls1st GirlNaomi Miller (Oxford High / Cowley)4/6
U18 Boys & Girls1st GirlClaire Morris (St Helen's / Cowley)4.5/6
2nd= BoyJiexi Zhao (Cherwell / Cowley)4/6
ECF All-England Girls Gold Finals, 24th June 2006
U81stRowan White5/5
2nd (U7 title)Anna Wang4/5
3rd=Irene Mathias3/5
U102nd=Maria Wang4/5
2nd=Sarah Garrett4/5
ECF National Girls Team Championships, 10th June 2006
U91stCowley Chess Club
Sarah Garrett, Anna Wang, Rowan White, Chantelle Foster
2nd=Oxford High School (best school trophy)
Irene Mathias, Katherine Klemperer, Tiyash Banerjee, Amber Tse
U14 / U182nd (U14)Cowley Chess Club
Maria Wang, Larissa Cooke, Ruby Marsden, Fernanda White

In August, several of these players will be competing at longplay time controls in the British Championships in Swansea.

And in September, Marcus Harvey (U10B) and Maria Wang (U10G) have been invited to represent England in the European Youth Championships - the most prestigious youth event that the ECF are sending a squad to this year.

07 Jul 2006

Heather Lang

EPSCA National Primary Schools Finals - U9

The Oxford High School U9 team finished 2nd in the National Primary Schools Under 9 Finals at Pontin's last week. Ten teams from the 170 that had originally entered took part in an all-play-all. It all ended up being very close between three outstanding teams at the top of the competition.

Hulme Court (Oldham) finished first, just a single point ahead of OHS, and Homefield (Surrey) were 3rd - one point further back. The key moment came on the morning of the second day, when a long match (eventually drawn) vs overnight leaders Hulme Court was immediately followed by a 4.5-0.5 loss to Homefield. However, the team rallied superbly to win their last two matches 4-1 and 5-0, and regain the second position they'd held overnight.

So well done to the very young team of Sarah Garrett, Rowan White, Anna Wang, Alex Anderton, Irene Mathias and Daniel D'Souza-Eva. These six County players have an average age-group of under 7.5, and four of them will still be able to take part in the 2008 version of the same event! Top performers were Sarah, who scored 5/9 on board 1 and played many good games against some of the best under 9s in the country and Anna, who was the team's top scorer with 7.5/9 on board 3.

Old News

Any unexpired news items dated before 1 August 2019 can be found by using the link for the relevant year. The link for 2018 will give news dated 01 Aug 2018 - 31 Jul 2019.