Oxfordshire Chess- News

News from 2019-20 for Oxfordshire Chess

News from other years: 2018 2017 2016 2015 2014 2013 2012 2010 2008 2007 2006 2005

30 Sep 2019

Stephen Rumsby

Under 150 County Team

If you are graded under 150 and would like to play in the County U150 Team can you please email me. I have emailed people who played last year, so if you are in this category you should have received my email, if not email me. There are 6 matches against 3 other county teams - Berks, Bucks and Hants. The first match is on the 19th October away to Berks. The other matches are on November 16 (home), November 30th (away), January 11th (home) February 15th (away) and March 14th (home). My email address is stephen.rumsby@maidford.plus.com

26 Sep 2019

Asif Hameed

Fixtures have been released!

Please check the site for the updated fixture list - check the date reads 26th September 2019 (you may have to refresh your browser).

24 Sep 2019

Roger Thetford

New Season

Would ODCL team captains please note the following changes and requests:

  • The League Rules have been updated. Major changes are stricter rules on board order, and the use of an incremental time limit (80 min + 10 sec per move) in Division One. Please ensure that your clocks can cope: not all digital clocks can!
  • The Banbury club has moved to a new venue.
  • Starred players must be declared by 31 October.
  • Also by 31 October, please declare the number of teams that you wish to enter in the FWS. The first round will take place before Christmas.

22 Sep 2019

Roger Thetford

AGM - Rule Changes

All of the rule- change proposals considered at Thursday's AGM were passed, some of them with some minor amendments. In particular, this means:

  • stricter limits on board order (broadly, a 'ten-point' rule), and a requirement to include gradings on the team-lists that are exchanged before start of play
  • Division One will use an incremental time control of 80 minutes (that was one of the amendments) plus 10s per move.
The Rules are being updated to accommodate the changed wording and will be published as soon as they are available.

20 Sep 2019

Stephen Rumsby

Banbury Chess Club have moved!

Banbury Chess Club have moved to the St Mary's Centre next to St Mary's church in the centre of Banbury. The address is St Mary's Centre, St Mary's Church, Horsefair, Banbury, OX16 0AA The club night is on a Thursday. The Centre is next to St Mary's Church, which is the large church in the centre of Banbury, opposite the cinema. From the motorway, go over two roundabouts and go left at the Tesco roundabout along Southam Rd. After about a kilometre you will pass St Mary's Church on the left, with the Cinema on the right There is a small road after the church leading to the Centre. There is limited parking at the Centre, but on street parking is free after 7.00.

19 Sep 2019

Roger Thetford

Documents for 2019 AGM - updated

The following documents are available in the collection of 'Admin Documents':

Old News

Any unexpired news items dated before 1 August 2019 can be found by using the link for the relevant year. The link for 2018 will give news dated 01 Aug 2018 - 31 Jul 2019.